Henderson and Rashford omitted but limitless Liverpool duo and Palace quartet called up

Jordan Henderson and Marcus Rashford are among the notable absentees not included in Gareth Southgate’s provisional 33-man England squad for Euro 2024.

South Gate has chosen a provisional 33-man squad for this summer’s European Championships.

Henderson and Rashford leave, Wharton and Grealish enter…

He England The team is expected to reduce its roster to 26 players after friendlies against Bosnia (June 3) and Iceland (June 7). Their first match of the Euro 2024 group stage will be against Serbia on June 16.

The England boss has opted to leave out several players who have been called up consistently during his tenure, with Henderson and Rashford failing to make the cut.

Henderson has fallen down the pecking order following his move last summer to Al-Ettifaq in the Saudi Pro League. His January move to Ajax and his subsequent disappointing form have seen the 33-year-old sidelined.

Rashford will also not travel to Germany after his massive decline during the 2023/24 campaign. Chelsea duo Reece James and Ben Chilwill will miss out after being hit by injuries, while teammate Raheem Sterling also failed to make the squad.

👉 No place for ‘pub player’ Harry Kane in England’s top quartet for Euro 2024
👉 The Traditional Clamor of England is already galloping away with Cole Palmer to ruin the summer

As for the players in the squad, Crystal Palace’s magnificent end to the season has been recognized with the selection of Dean Henderson, Marc Guehi, Adam Wharton and Eberechi Eze.

Liverpool’s limitless pair Jarell Quansah and Curtis Jones are also present, but there is no place for Harvey Elliott.

Other notable inclusions are Ivan Toney, James Maddison, Jack Grealish, Kobbie Mainoo, Luke Shaw and Aaron Ramsdale.

📣TO THE COMMENTS! Who should/shouldn’t have been included in the England squad? Join the discussion here

England’s full 33-man provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), James Trafford (Burnley) and Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Kyle Walker (Manchester City), John Stones (Manchester City), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Lewis Dunk (Brighton) and Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Declan Rice (Arsenal), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea) and Cole Palmer (Chelsea).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

READ NEXT: Guardiola and Arteta miss out on the big prize in our excellent end-of-season manager rankings