Pro-Fubara lawmakers confirm eight commissioner candidates

A faction of the Rivers State House of Assembly loyal to Governor Siminalayi Fubara has confirmed eight appointed commissioners as members of the State Executive Council.

Fubara earlier submitted the names of the nominees to the House headed by the faction chairman, Victor Oko-Jumbo, for screening and confirmation.

The Assembly vetted the nominees during its session in the temporary legislative chambers at the Administrative Block of Government House, Port Harcourt, on Tuesday.

The House asked two former commissioners, Dr Peter Medee and Eloka Tasie-Amadi, who served under the previous Nyesom Wike administration as commissioners for Energy and Works respectively, to bow and leave.

The pro-Fubara legislators put some questions to the other six candidates and they were consequently confirmed as commissioners-designate.

In his remarks, the Speaker, Oko-Jumbo, charged the appointed commissioners to contribute their quota to move the state forward and assist the governor in delivering the dividends of democracy to the people.

He advised the governor not to be distracted and to continue his good works and promised the support of the House for his success.

He said: “Those who are supposed to bring the dividends of democracy to our people. As a legislature, what we can do is make sure we create an atmosphere in which His Excellency will do more.

“While we congratulate His Excellency on his many achievements in office, we also take this opportunity to ask him not to be distracted. We ask you to remain focused on the mandate given to you by the people of Rivers State.

“We also ask that you not be biased. “It should continue to bring the dividends of democracy to our people.”

Speaking to reporters after the screening, House Leader Sokari Goodboy commended the governor for the caliber of people sent to the House for the screening.

“Today we held our session and in the order document we had the selection of eight commissioners and we know very well that it is necessary to fill the executive arm of the state and we are happy and proud of the nominees,” he said.