Ronaldo, ready to break the Euro Cup record with the Portugal team

Cristiano Ronaldo is likely to set a Euro record after being named in Portugal’s 26-man squad for 2024, unveiled on Tuesday by coach Roberto Martínez.

The five-time Ballon d’Or winner, 39, will participate in his eleventh major international tournament.

He made his first appearance at Euro 2004 and will make a record sixth appearance in the men’s continental championship. He got a winner’s medal in France in 2016, even though he was injured 25 minutes into the final.

Ronaldo, who plays for Saudi Arabia’s Al Nassr, already holds the men’s world record for international caps (206) and international goals (128).

He again proved indispensable as Portugal won all 10 qualifying matches, scoring 36 goals and conceding two.

Ronaldo scored 10 goals in nine appearances in the qualifying round.

Praising “a player who has scored 42 goals in 41 games for his club,” Martínez considered that the forward continues to offer “a quality in front of goal that we really appreciate and need.”

Despite his advanced age, Ronaldo will not be the oldest player in the squad.

His former Real Madrid teammate Pepe, 41 years old and now playing for Porto, has also been called up for his “important role in the locker room,” Martínez said.

Before facing the Czech Republic, Turkey and then Georgia in Group F of the Euro Cup, from June 14 to July 14 in Germany, the Seleção will play preparation matches against Finland, Croatia and Ireland.

In addition to Ronaldo in attack, Martínez has selected forwards Rafael Leao, Joao Félix and Gonçalo Ramos, as well as Pedro Neto and Francisco Conceicao.

Creative midfielders include Bernardo Silva, fresh from winning an English title with Manchester City, and Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes.


Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa (Porto), Rui Patricio Roma/ITA), José Sa (Wolves/ENG)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Barcelona/ESP), Nelson Semedo (Wolves/ENG), Diogo Dalot (Manchester United/ENG), Nuno Mendes (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Ruben Dias (Manchester City/ENG), Antonio Silva ( Benfica), Gonçalo Inácio (Sporting), Pepe (Porto), Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA)

Midfielders: Joao Palhinha (Fulham/ENG), Ruben Neves (Al-Hilal/KSA), Joao Neves (Benfica), Vitinha (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Otavio Monteiro (Al Nassr/KSA), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United ) /ESP), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City/ESP)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Al Nassr/KSA), Rafael Leao (AC Milan/ITA), Joao Félix (FC Barcelona/ESP), Gonçalo Ramos (Paris SG/FRA), Diogo Jota (Liverpool/ENG), Pedro Neto (Wolves ) /ESP), Francisco Conceicao (Porto)